The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Is Protools the best sounding DAW?
Old 30th May 2016
Gear Head

Hello there!

I, as many, compose, produce and mix. I've worked for probably more than 10 years with Logic. I hate Logic X but I'm still happy with Logic 9 Studio, I think it just works, it's easy, visually pleasant for me, and I think it sounds great.

Well, I work as a telecomunications engineer and do also freelances as a composer, producer, all that comes my way that has sound on it. I've decided to stop working as a telecomunications engineer and try to make all my income come from working full time with music and sound, I have to try. So, if you want to make a living with sound, it's good to know the standards.

My question is simple but not easy...sorry if you've discussed this on the past, it's a difficult search. Well, is the audio engine of Protools the best out there? Better than Logic, Ableton, Cubase, FL? I'm sure some of you have been on different studios with different setups and noticed differences in terms of sound quality.

For example I can say something is not right with Ableton for me, I use it live and the sound feels just weaker somehow...Logic gives me more safety, like it has a deeper low end. There is this talking around DAWs that always points to Protools not only because it's a standard but because I've read how people say it's the best sounding of them all.

What do you think?

Also, does it make any sense to produce on Logic, then mix on Protools?

Thanks!
Old 30th May 2016
Gear Maniac

I don't think there is any difference in the end product regardless of what you use
Old 30th May 2016
Gear Maniac

please stop with this s**t in 2016...
Old 30th May 2016
Lives for gear

I'm going to be slay'd for saying this over here...

"It's the engineer, not the gear"
Old 30th May 2016
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by end View Post
Hello there!

Thanks!