The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Screen sets vs Mission Control
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Screen sets vs Mission Control

Hallo, i have a question for seasoned Logic Pro X users.
I posted this message to VI Control, but this board seems a lot more appropriate :->.

As i described in another thread i am adding Logic Pro X to my setup, being an old timer Cubase users.
I am following some MacProVideo tutorials and starting to playing around with Logic; i am a composer, sometimes purely music, sometime for short movies and sometime i use DAWs to sketch out compositions to play with my groups.

One important point that explain the following: i do not do orchestral or very complex compositions; i usually work with small ensembles, i rarely use more than 15 tracks.

In general i like a lot what i am seeing: i like Cubase, but my general first impression is that logic is more logically organised, more direct, take less thinking to make easy things; but this is just a first impression; later i may end up writing a more structured comparison; it is anyway refreshing and stimulating to see an another way to do things and learn a new program.

One major pain point that i partially had with Cubase is the lack of a full integration with the Mac native window management (Mission Control, virtual screens etc). A very simple thing that i love about Logic is the fact you can make a window full screen, and than i can have a virtual screen with a full screen mixer and a virtual screen with a full screen composition window; in Cubase you can use virtual screen, but you cannot go full screen; DAWs require every little pixel, on a laptop or in a 27" display, imho.