The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Do I need a pre amp to record vocals in logic?
Old 15th October 2019
Here for the gear

Do I need a pre amp to record vocals in logic?

I’m a noob and in HS so forgive my ignorance but I have a MacBook Air with logic. I want to record vocals. Mic wise I’m working with the Shure SM57
I was thinking of buying the Scarlet 2i2 (not sure wether second or third gen really matters) but is the 2i2 a pre amp and do I need a pre amp to record vocals?
I know about mixing with plugins but I want to make sure my vocals sound as professional as possible. I’m recording in my bedroom which isn’t sound proof. I’m on a budget because class.
Also what do you guys think of the 2i2? It seems the most budget friendly for me
Old 16th October 2019
Gear Nut

The 2i2 will work, it has pre-amps in it. More money should be spent on making your room sound better before you spend on a "better" interface/pre-amp. If you're really only going to use 1 mic you could save a little and get the Focusrite Solo.
Old 16th October 2019
Here for the gear

Does it matter what gen solo I get? And do you think it’s a bad idea to record vocals on an SM57 ? It’s not a condenser mic it’s a dynamic mic
Old 17th October 2019
Gear Nut

Buying new I’d just get the latest gen3 unless you run across a really good deal on the 2nd gen. It’s not a bad idea to record vocals on the sm57, just try it and see how it sounds. There’s no built in pop/wind screen so pay extra attention and maybe get an external one. Lots of great recordings have been done with dynamic mics.
Old 27th October 2019
Lives for gear

I'd still get the 2i2 over the Solo unless you really can't afford it. The separate headphone level and stereo/mono direct monitoring switch is worth it, not to mention that saving $50 now will mean that if you ever do need to record in stereo in the future, you'll have to buy another interface.
Old 2nd November 2019