The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Midi Behavior for External Synths Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 13th May 2018
Here for the gear
Midi Behavior for External Synths

When I set up my DSI OB6 as external instrument using the external instrument plug-in, it sounds unless I mute it, even when not selected. So if I deselect record it still plays. I'm using the midi info from the keyboard to control other external synths as well, so when I have my arp odyssey module selected I hear both instruments at once. Any ideas? I'd love any help, I've messed with the midi settings on the ob6. I've tried to play with the demix setting in Logic, the ob6 still sounds no matter what. I'm pretty new to midi protocols.
Old 14th May 2018
Unless the OB6 has a way to turn local mode off, youre just gonna have to mute it.
Old 14th May 2018
Lives for gear
in global settings. turn LOCAL CONTROL to OFF

most external synths have this. anything from DSI will

you could also assign different MIDI channels to each synth. Channel 1 for OB6, Channel 2 for the ARP etc.
Old 15th May 2018
Here for the gear
Thanks for the response, and sorry if these are obvious questions, but if I turn local off then the already recorded midi data won't be played by the ob6. I guess what I'm ultimately trying to do, and it may not be possible, is record midi data/notes, have them play a bassline or whatever on the ob 6, and then while listening to that say on a loop, play a lead line over it with the arp (using the ob6 keyboard as a midi controller for the arp). If I turn off local I won't hear the bassline. Is there no way to do this without bouncing the audio or going the old fashioned way of recording both a midi and an audio track? or without hearing both the ob6 and the arp simultaneously? I've tried putting them on separate midi channels, doesn't seem to stop the ob6 from sounding.