The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Logic Pro x DAW Software
Old 13th February 2018
Here for the gear

Logic Pro x

So I'm using Logic Pro x and I'm new to the whole music thing , anyways Logic Pro x is honestly amazing I love it , but I noticed it's a type of daw that kind of simplifies everything I feell and there's nothing wrong with that , but for instance I made a beat using the ultrabeat plugin and the beat was pretty cool but at the same time I felt I wouldn't be able to compose a beat like that had I not been using it . So I thought to myself is it really me doing the work or is it just the daw doing the work and I'm just tweeking it .what if I had to go to another producer and work on a project and I can't compose a beat the same way i did on logic just because I didn't have these plugins hence what makes me think am I really doing the work . Is it it really my creativity??
Maybe I'm just thinking too much about it or something I don't know but I would love to hear your guy's opinion on this . I hope this made sense
Old 13th February 2018
Gear Maniac

I actually think this is a good question. "is it me or the DAW?". I've been composing for a long time, and I've learned to use different tools for this very reason - sometimes something will just "happen" in Logic that wouldn't have happened somewhere else, or maybe Ableton or whatever. I've learned to embrace it. Then I often go and mix in a DAW that "feels" more like a mixing environment, such as Pro Tools, which doesn't feel as creative to me but works like a rock for mixing or sound designing.