The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Eliminate Distortion-Logic Pro x
Old 12th January 2018
Here for the gear

Eliminate Distortion-Logic Pro x

Ive been messing around with making beats in logic pro x for a few months now just using virtual software instruments.
However in trying to mix these beats a problem that has come up is that some individual instruments tend to create distortion when played at a loud volume on speakers.
For example the gentle sine bell preset from the alchemy synth creates an ugly distortion sound similar to clipping when speaker volume is turned up.
It feels like certain hertz ranges are just getting overloaded but is there a way to fix the problem without just significantly lowering certain ranges with an equalizer?

Thanks
Old 13th January 2018
Lives for gear

Which speakers?

KA
Old 13th January 2018
Here for the gear

Most of the ones ive tried. Seems to be lot more noticable on larger stereo ones. Smaller ones its harder to notice depending on the level that its occuring.
Old 13th January 2018
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmw01 View Post
Most of the ones ive tried. Seems to be lot more noticable on larger stereo ones. Smaller ones its harder to notice depending on the level that its occuring.
I'd apply a lowcut on the main out. Maybe the speakers you have when you mix don't go very low so you don't notice it but it's obvious when played on larger ones that will naturally go lower.

KA
Old 18th January 2018
Here for the gear