The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Metric Halo???
Old 23rd May 2006
Gear Head

Metric Halo???

I'm a pro tools user and I'm looking for a good sounding, stable mobile system with at least 16 analogue inputs. Any suggestions for a maximum of 2500-3000 usd ?

I was wondering if anybody has any experience with their soundcards?
Sound of converters, preamps,...??
How stable are they?

They look very solid, but in europe they are quite unknown.
How is the support?

Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear

Metric Halo 2882 is a great sounding box - stack as many of these as you want for multiple analog I/O of very high quality.

I know very little about Pro-Tools - does it use CoreAudio these days, ie can you use it with any Firewire interface?

If you just need an application to capture sound on the road for later editing in the studio the Metric Halo record panel in the MIO software will print your tracks to disk with no extra software required and minumum of CPU overhead. Very neat.

Support in Europe is good. If it's a software problem you email MH directly for help (they are very responsive) and if it's hardware they will bust a gut to make sure you are never left with down-time. Just join the MIO mailing list and as a MH user you'll never be left in the lurch - the professional bonds and cameraderie among MH users is strong!
Old 23rd May 2006
Lives for gear