The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Tips for a beginner live engineer
Old 18th November 2009
Talking Tips for a beginner live engineer

Hey there!
First I just want to say that Im new at gearslutz. Been hanging here for some days and its great! Dont know if im in the right forum or if there is another thread like this one (couldn't find any1 tho) so I apologize if im causing anyone any trouble

Anyways, Ive been taking a live engineering class at the local club that most bands come and play at. Ive learnt basically how the mixer works and how to set everything up properly but I havent learnt too much about how to get a good sound. Ive got my first gig in the beginning of december. Thought you guys might be able to help me with some basic tips for live engineering. Im running the works (FoH, monitors, etc).

Its a relatively small place (holds 250 people). The room is relatively square and the celing is not that high (10 feet max). The mixing station is placed in the back of the room. Ive heard that the placement could cause some problems? Could there be some kind of bass build up or what?

Thought it might help with a bit of tech info etc:

Mixer: Yamaha 01V96VCM (digital, 32 channels)
Mics: Shure beta 52, beta 57a, sm58, sm57 and also some tom mics which I think are sennheiser but im not shure...
Monitors:4x mackie srm350v2
FoH speakers: mackie SWA2801z subs and the speakers are some older mackie model, which I cant remember.
We've also got a full backline, which consists of a peavy and a marshall stack (both are decent) and a really sweet ampeg bass amp. The drums are ok, ive got an experienced drummer friend who is going to help me with tuning them etc.

Tell me if you need some more info. Thanks!

Old 18th November 2009
Lives for gear