The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Zoom R24 vs Livetrak L12 for small group location recording
Old 9th March 2018
Here for the gear

Zoom R24 vs Livetrak L12 for small group location recording

First post in a while here. I have done a search and have learned a few things but would like to narrow things down. Hope I am in the right forum and apologies for the length of this post - just trying to be thorough.

I'm a professor at a music school in the midwest, actively involved in the jazz studies program as both instrumental faculty and classroom teacher. I am getting ready to propose an initiative to include more recording in the curriculum for our small jazz ensembles. We don't have a ton of resources and don't need totally professional results at this time but would like to include an ensemble recording requirement at the end of each semester.

The recordings would be made either in the current acoustically compromised rehearsal spaces or in a slightly drier space with no separation. The groups are usually 4-7 instruments. After they play their final concert, we would like to have them record themselves and review the recording both as a whole ensemble and as regards their individual parts of the whole.

We are looking at the Zoom R24 and Livetrack L12, thinking simultaneous 8 inputs max for what we want to do, and the ability to do a basic mix of levels. Everything would be acoustic and there would be a lot of bleed, and we accept that.

The question I have is this: the R24 seems to be a more basic user friendly unit that most of our students and faculty could - and would - easily use for this purpose. The Livetrak has a lot of neat features, but many of them are superfluous for what we are trying to do and the consensus is that it's way more complicated to learn. Given these things, what are the compelling reasons to choose the Livetrak over the R24?
Old 9th March 2018
Lives for gear