The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
shapenote singing
Old 4th February 2007
Here for the gear

Talking shapenote singing

Been mostly lurking for a few months, soaking up the collective wisdom here--thanks for all the helpful discussion. I am not a professional, but a fairly serious (if still aspiring) hobby recordist. I record many different types of music peformance situations and generally get pretty decent results for what my gear allows, but I'm hoping for some suggestions about recording a shapenote sing. I'm going to assume some will know what this is, but that many likely will not. While I find the history and tradition of this type of music pretty interesting, what's important really is the physical layout of singing, and what I want to achieve with the recording.

Shapenote (or Sacred Harp, after the most common tunebook used) singing is done a cappella in a "hollow square"--each of the four parts has one side of the square and the singers sit in several rows, facing the middle. There is no conductor, per se, but singers sign up to be leaders, and each is called in turn to stand in the middle and lead one song, mostly facing the tenor section, which is the melody-bearing part. Generally the strongest/best singers sit in the front row of each section, with weaker singers sitting in the rows further back. The particular singing I'm interested in recording is a state "convention" that will likely have 75-150 singers, total, and will last two days (I would only be making a single-disc "highlights" end product, most likely).