The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Moog Voyager not working in Ableton Live
Old 1st July 2012
Here for the gear

Moog Voyager not working in Ableton Live

Before I smash my brand new Moog Voyager into pieces, I will make one final attempt to reach out for some help on how to enable a connection between Ableton Live and my Voyager. I am new to analog synths and picked up my Voyager yesterday morning. I have not slept yet because I cannot get it to work and I am going crazy. It can obviously be done, yet I cant find much in the Ableton manual, Voyager manual, or online. If I sound idiotic, please be reminded that analog synths are all new to me.

Here is my situation:

When I plug the Voyager directly into my speakers, it plays beautifully.

If I plug the Voyager into my Roland Quad Capture audio interface with a TRS Cable, the Moog starts to play by itself without me even touching it. It plays a single note which is stuck on repeat every time. I do not have to have anything open on my MacBook Pro for it to start playing.

Lastly, when I try to apply a MIDI connection nothing happens. I can't figure out how to build a connection between the Moog and Ableton. I have tried adjusting EVERYTHING in the preferences and have been up ALL night trying to figure this out. How has everyone else been able to do it without any instruction at all? I must be missing a simple step along the line but so far I am baffled that I waited a month and a half to get this thing and I can't apply it towards anything. It is such a joke to finally have such a masterful piece of equipment in front of me and I am unable to put it to good use. It would be very much appreciated if someone were to give me a hint of advice before I chuck this thing out my car window while I'm on the road. Thank you all for your time.
Old 1st July 2012
Lives for gear

It's broken. I'll take it off your hand no charge!
Old 1st July 2012
Lives for gear

J/k

Just to be clear your basic setup would be: