The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton

Hey guys! I'm pretty new to Ableton and also only just started producing, I used Logic for a little bit but then my Mac had wine spilt over it

Anyway, as you can see in the step by step photos, i'm trying to change the bpm of some audio.

I'm producing a Liquid DnB track at 174bpm, therefore I would like the vocals at half the speed (87bpm). When I change the bpm to 87 it actually makes the audio file smaller when surely it should be larger if its slowing the tempo down?

I'm not sure if it shows my photos in order but if they're not then this is what i've done (if you can see the file name it helps, not sure if you can as i'm new to this forum) :-

Shown overall BPM of track
Shown BPM of the audio file when I click on it
Audio file size
Changed BPM
New audio file size

It doesn't sound right either. I'm probably doing omething really stupid, but can anyone point me in the right direction as to how I do this correctly?

Kind Regards
Cheezy1 X
Attached Thumbnails
Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton-ableton-4-change-bpm.png   Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton-ableton-3-size-audio.png   Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton-ableton-2-samples-bpm.png   Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton-ableton-5-size-audio.png  
Attached Images
Changing BPM of Audio in Ableton-ableton-1-overall-bpm.png 
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict
The setting in the Clip is supposed to be the original BPM of the raw audio.

By setting it to 87 you told Live that Clip is 87 BPM, not whatever it auto-detected. Since the Set is set to 174 BPM, Live plays that "87 BPM" audio double speed to match that 174.

If you want it to slow down to 1/2 speed you got to set the Clip BPM to double, not half.
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Thankyou mate.
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear