The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Problems Rendering in Ableton 10
Old 10th September 2019
Problems Rendering in Ableton 10

Hi there

I've got a problem when I try to Export Audio in Ableton 10 on my Mac - basically, when I hit Export, I get the 10 second countdown 'Waiting for external instrument and effects to become silent' and then it just repeats itself over and over and the rendering doesn't start. But there is nothing external currently attached to Ableton. The only way I can get audio recorded is if I turn off 'Auto Restarts of Dropout' but at the end of this process I am advised that there has been 2 dropouts and 60 disk overloads and the audio is obviously unusable.

I've been exporting audio for about 3 years now and never had a problem like this before, so I'm a bit stuck

Any ideas?
Old 15th September 2019
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil F View Post
Any ideas?

Make a duplicate of the project (the whole folder), open it instead and go over all the tracks. One thing to look at are devices and plug-ins hidden inside racks, maybe External Audio Effects is unused but active? If you don't see anything, start deleting half of the tracks and start exporting. If it works, undo and remove half of the half that made it go away and so on.

When you found the reason, go back to the original and fix it now when you know what needs fixing.

Last edited by Mikael B; 24th September 2019 at 10:58 PM.. Reason: additional
Old 15th September 2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikael B View Post
Make a duplicate of the project (the whole folder), open it instead and go over all the tracks. One thing to look at are devices and plug-ins hidden inside racks, maybe External Audio Effects is unused but active? If you don't see anything, start deleting half of the tracks and start exporting. If it works, undo and remove half of the half that made it go away and so on.
Nice one - thank you