Subscribe
Robertt8
28th December 2013
Old 28th December 2013
Gear nut

Exclamation Stinky Gorilla - Need Mix Impressions

**updated new mp3 (stinky_gorilla_14.mp3)**

Hey guys,

Since the treatment of the drums was the most obvious comment, I made them mono, so hopefully there isn't a weird stereo thing happening now. They might be too loud, but I think they sound more natural. I also tweaked the bass. I think it does make the bass more defined, but I haven't checked the mix yet on a bunch of sources.

Thanks!

I was hoping to so get so general impressions of this mix (which is sort of an upbeat skanky tune).

Any feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Thanks!
Tait
Attached Files
File Type: mp3 stinky_gorilla_13.mp3 (6.92 MB, 26 views)
File Type: mp3 stinky_gorilla_14.mp3 (6.87 MB, 9 views)
28th December 2013
Old 28th December 2013
Lives for gear

Very nice - this is not my genre at all and i'm an amateur but if i was to question one thing it might be the drum bus, maybe the drums sound a little wetter than everything else in the mix, like they're not quite in the same room? (compare to vox e.g., which sound *nice* and dry)... at first i wondered whether you had some high freqs in the drums that didnt quite fit, but if you can i'd look at reverb first, is there any, can it be reduced a tad...

My 2c!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertt8 View Post
Hey guys,

I was hoping to so get so general impressions of this mix (which is sort of an upbeat skanky tune).

Any feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Thanks!
Tait
Robertt8
28th December 2013
Old 28th December 2013
Gear nut

Hey GJ999x! Thanks for the reply. Those drums are actually done with one mic. I tried to duplicate the channels, pan them different and compress them a little differently. I think maybe that isn't the best solution?