mix advice requested
New Reply
Subscribe
charliebug
14th March 2013
Old 14th March 2013
Gear interested

mix advice requested

so here is the deal. im VERY new to recording and mixing... ive been dabling with cubase 5 for about a year now. a few good friends of mine asked me to record their EP. this is what we got so far.

https://soundcloud.com/#cnehr-1/p1-2

we knocked this song and 3 others out in about two and a half hours. the vox are all scratch, so ignore them please. some feedback on the rest of the mix would be great tho!
charliebug
14th March 2013
Old 14th March 2013
Gear interested

a little more detail to how the track was recorded. it is a thre peice band of guitar, bass and drums. its a live recording except the vox track. no other overdubs/tracking. the drums are a spaced pair of pg-81's, sm57 on snare and pg-52 on the kick. the bass guitar is direct in thru the bassits amp head. i dont remember the brand or model off hand. guitar is an sm57 close miked and a behringer b-2 pro about2 feet off the amp. the guitar amp is a fender deville. addvice on better mic placement is always welcome.
14th March 2013
Old 14th March 2013
Gear interested

The Soundcloud link doesn't take me to a song. It takes me to the soundcloud homepage for some reason...
charliebug
14th March 2013
Old 14th March 2013
Gear interested

Attached Files
File Type: mp3 p1(2).mp3 (6.91 MB, 32 views)
28th March 2013
Old 28th March 2013
Gear interested

sounds nice

hey charliebug

i'm also new to the recording and mixing scene
although you can hear the recordings are rather lofi i think the magic is there
i am not technical enough to tell you what you could have done differently or better
but i can tell you that i love the atmosphere, the song, the vibe
and maybe you could ask the question if the music would benefit from a more hifi approach
i have a lot of albums of bands i adore that don't sound super high end at all, but the music's there