New Reply
Subscribe
kevinlaurence1
17th February 2011
Old 17th February 2011
Gear Head

Question Piano-pop song Mix Critique & Advice

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to mixing and actually just starting working with Logic Express 9 after using Garageband. "When Zoey Loves You" is a piano-driven song I recently wrote, recorded and mixed and would greatly appreciate any constructive criticism on any aspect of the mix/production.

Thanks,

Kevin

***New Mix/Master posted below on 2/19***
Attached Files
File Type: mp3 When Zoey Loves You (Mix 5).mp3 (3.69 MB, 85 views)

Last edited by kevinlaurence1; 19th February 2011 at 11:00 PM.. Reason: ***New Mix/Master posted below***
kevinlaurence1
18th February 2011
Old 18th February 2011
Gear Head

Hello again,

Just wanted to check up and see if anyone has had an opportunity to listen to my mix. Again, I would greatly appreciate any constructive feedback and advice on how to improve the mix in any way.

Thanks,

Kevin
kevinlaurence1
19th February 2011
Old 19th February 2011
Gear Head

Well,

I have since re-mixed and mastered the track. Hopefully, someone can take a listen now and give some feedback pretty pretty please?!

Thanks,

Kevin
Attached Files
File Type: mp3 Zoey Mix 10 (master).mp3 (3.69 MB, 43 views)
19th February 2011
Old 19th February 2011
Gear addict

Send a message via Skype™ to andyspiller
Hi Kevin

I have a couple of observations. I think the sound is nice.

My main comment would be that the string/flute interlude seems to be divorced from the rest of the song. It has no context. The sonic template is lusher with its inclusion (certainly the strings) but I feel this should carry on, and give the song more dynamism and build.

I wonder also if you can create more tension with the verses being completely dry and in your face (This would really complement your vocal tone) before expanding out again to the "Band image".

Regards

Andy
19th February 2011
Old 19th February 2011
Gear Head

Quote: