Login / Register

Ukulele/Gameboy mix help (pretty sticky mix challenge)
New Reply
Subscribe
caseybasichis
25th May 2007
Old 25th May 2007
Gear interested

Ukulele/Gameboy mix help (pretty sticky mix challenge)

Could someone give me advice on how I should go about mixing this? Specifics general?

The rest of the album is coming well but this one is a little testy.

FYI. Its a gameboy/ukulele band so the sounds are integral (though I woud consider rerecording the vox or the uke), just to avoid any "use different sounds bits"

http:/www.napoleonshand.com/Audio/Janes.mp3

Here is another track to give you an idea

http:/www.napoleonshand.com/Audio/Ghetto.mp3

I would really really appreciate any advice. This is my first time mixing a serious endeavor.

Thanks,
Casey

p.s. There is some autotune of the vox, I just did two takes to get something to work around but I intend to rerecord them when Im a little closer with the rest of it all
25th May 2007
Old 25th May 2007
Gear interested

26th May 2007
Old 26th May 2007
Lives for gear

What The Hell Is this

I am high!
I feel like I need some brownies....
The mix is fine excellent...
I just am very freaked out by this...
LOL
Its wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy out there... Even growing up and being friends with The Mars Volta... This is WAAYYYYYYYYYY out there... Come home Zendar!!!!!!!!

26th May 2007
Old 26th May 2007
Lives for gear

28th May 2007
Old 28th May 2007
Gear interested

30th May 2007
Old 30th May 2007
Gear maniac

strange (to me), but i kinda like.
vaguely reminds me a little of the books... well, mixed with some more recent indie stuff that i've seen with gameboys etc in.

in the first one, maybe consider some vocal automation , i can't make out the lead vox sometimes...
otherwise pretty good!
30th May 2007
Old 30th May 2007
Gear maniac

These songs are very very cool. I'd love to hear them without the mp3 compression, then I'll throw some recommendations around.

Ben
30th May 2007
Old 30th May 2007
Gear interested