Is this a SCAM? - Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time! > Sub forums > Studio Business


Is this a SCAM?

New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th February 2012   #1
Gear Whisperer
 
Trakworx's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,832

Thread Starter
Is this a SCAM?

Just got the following - unsure whether to even click on the link. Anyone else got emails from them?

***************************************************************************
** DOMAIN DEACTIVATION WARNING **
***************************************************************************

Dear Valued AWRegistry Customer,

The following 1 domain(s) have been scheduled for deactivation. These
domains will be deactivated in approximately 15 days unless prompt payment
is received:

trakworx.com

In order to ensure that your domains remain active, AWRegistry must receive
and process your payment before your domains expire. Failure to renew by the
expiration date will result in domain deactivation and subsequent deletion.

We encourage you to go to your control panel at
http://web.awregistry.net/domains/renew to renew your domains with a credit
card. Using your control panel, you can specify which domains to renew, and
the number of years to renew. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express,
and Discover.

Thank you for choosing AWRegistry for your domain registration needs. We are
committed to providing a convenient, low-cost, value-added domain
registration service.

We appreciate your patronage and hope that you continue to choose
AWRegistry.

Sincerely,

AWRegistry Customer Care
support@awregistry.net


Thanks!

.
__________________
Justin Weis
Trakworx
Quality Affordable Mastering, Mixing, Recording.

http://www.trakworx.com
Trakworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2012   #2
Lives for gear
 
joelpatterson's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 9,509

If it is legitimate-- they are sure making every effort to sound fishy. Like... what is the problem? Is there a phone number to talk to someone? And-- what was the problem, all of a sudden?
__________________
Mountaintop Studios
~the peak of perfection~
Petersburgh NY 12138

mountaintop@taconic.net

www.joelpatterson.us
joelpatterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2012   #3
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 510

Your domain does expire on Feb 22 2012

Whois Lookup - Domain Names Search, Registration, & Availability | Whois.net

But that doesn't mean it's not a scam. Contact whoever you registered your domain with and renew it. but confirm who it was before sending somebody any money. If it was AWRegistry, then renew if that's your intent.

Looks like domain@ivenue is who you need to contact. Their number is in the above link.
fritzschreiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2012   #4
Gear Whisperer
 
Trakworx's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,832

Thread Starter
Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzschreiner View Post
Your domain does expire on Feb 22 2012

Whois Lookup - Domain Names Search, Registration, & Availability | Whois.net

But that doesn't mean it's not a scam. Contact whoever you registered your domain with and renew it. but confirm who it was before sending somebody any money. If it was AWRegistry, then renew if that's your intent.

Looks like domain@ivenue is who you need to contact. Their number is in the above link.
Thanks that is very helpful!
Trakworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012   #5
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Highlands of Scotland
Posts: 2,019

It's a scam. We get these all the time.
The Byre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2012   #6
msl
Lives for gear
 
msl's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 3,662

Very common scam.



.
msl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012   #7
Gear Whisperer
 
Trakworx's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,832

Thread Starter
Turns out it was not a scam after all. Just a message from a legitimate company that is involved with my host. Man, they sure know how to make their email look like a scam!
Trakworx is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTF'ing F is going on with this device? (modular gearlust) casiosk1 Electronic Music Instruments & Electronic Music Production 27 9th February 2012 04:37 AM
What desk is this? TrueTone Studios So much gear, so little time! 4 7th February 2012 11:08 PM
Beware, paypal phishing scam! heathen So much gear, so little time! 6 7th October 2007 12:29 AM
Do you guys think this is a scam? Tamra So much gear, so little time! 10 31st December 2006 03:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:11 PM.

Home - Search Forum - Contact Us - Terms Of Use - Advertise on Gearslutz - All Advertisers - Archive - Top
 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com LTD - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office - 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.
Hosted by Nimbus Hosting.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.