Room Measurements posted - help?
Old 31st January 2013
Gear Head

Room Measurements posted - help?

Hi all.

I just got my hands on a pair of Focal Solo6BE's, so I decided to do some measurements. I want a great room, and who better to ask than you guys

I have some room to grow when it comes to treatment - I basically just have a ton of Auralex bass traps... (like I said, room to grow ).

I'm mainly a composer (although I love mixing and am quite picky) so I don't have a ton of money to spend on something like bass traps when I could be buying samples and upgrading my rig, but I'm curious if there's a relatively inexpensive way to make my room significantly better. I've been looking at the digital EQ's supported by RoomEQ Wizard, namely Behringer and DBX, but I'm not sure which to get (I'd like more than 2 bands....)

Everything is rounded to 1/12 oct. My SPL doesn't scare me too much here, although it seems like an issue from 300 Hz down, notably a wretched dip at 80 Hz that even EQ can't fix. What confuses me is the waterfall plot, because I don't know what to aim for. I know the Room EQ's won't fix waterfall response.

What do you all think? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Room Measurements posted - help?-2013-01-30-spl.jpg   Room Measurements posted - help?-2013-01-30-waterfall.jpg  
Attached Files
File Type: wav 2013-01-30 Impulse.wav (256.0 KB, 8 views)
Old 31st January 2013
Gear Guru

Quote:
I have some room to grow when it comes to treatment - I basically just have a ton of Auralex bass traps... (like I said, room to grow ).
One thing nice about buying a finished product is getting the personal acoustic consulting from the company you bought from. I would send them your REW file and have them help you out with placement of there treatment and over all set up of your mix spot. Let us know what they say.
Old 2nd February 2013
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Kuras View Post