New Reply
Subscribe
AntonioCometti
27th January 2013
Old 27th January 2013
Gear interested

My new studio - Serious help needed!

Hi gearslutz,

this is my first post here, I'm Antonio, I'm from Italy and I'm a music lover / wannabe producer.
Since years I've always tried to improve the acoustics of my home studio by reading the forums and I was quite happy with what I had..but I think I made a big big mistake now so I really need some community help.
Before you start laughing: I can't speak english very well and I'm not an acoustics expert

Heres my situation:
a few days ago I had the chance to move into another room. (before I had the typical bedroom + homestudio situation).
My goal was to separate them, creating a semi-pro studio so I've copied the design of a pro studio I've worked in months ago that I really liked.
I got the measurements of that studio and reported them in my new room by building 2 plasterboard counter walls to match them. I've also built 4 corner traps with plasterboard and rock wool.
Now I just moved in and I'm really upset, I hear too much reverb + flutter echoes in some zones + the bass is louder at some frequencies. The only thing I like is the stereo imaging since I'm in a larger room.
Below theres a sketch of how my new room looks like.

Room size is 3,80 x 4,60 x 2,50h (meters). The corners traps sizes are 1,14mt each (front corners) and 0,57 (rear corners).
The listening position is at 38% of the room length.
By clapping my hands while moving around the room I can hear flutter echoes in the right half of the room. The closest I get to the pre-existing right wall, the more I can hear them. If I move to the left they disappear.
Also, I've placed a self built bass trap in the ceiling corner and it doesn't seems to help that much. In fact I have the sensation of being closed in a big guitar soundhole. Or maybe the soundhole is the space between the trap and the ceiling corner, I can't say it precisely its more like a sensation hahaha.