New Reply
Subscribe
ionskyon
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
Gear interested

Soundproofing Raw space

Howdy everyone,

I'm new to soundproofing for loud sounds.

I live in midcoast Maine and there is really no place for musicians to practice at loud volumes, so I'm in the process of figuring out the best method of converting a raw industrial space into a rehearsal space using the best quality/most affordable materials. I'm looking at framing out and soundproofing maybe 6 or so rooms.

The space itself is in an industrial park, no neighbors to worry about, so my only soundproofing concerns are from room to room; with a certain amount of bleed thru being acceptable. I'm not looking to build recording studio quiet atmospheres just places where people can get together and play comfortably. Most people up here, including myself, subsist on modest means and the more affordably I can build the space the cheaper I can make it for everyone else. That being said, I'm a carpenter and understand that quality and a job done right to begin with is the way to go.

In doing some research (I just ordered Alton Everest's Sound studio construction on a budget) I've come to some vague conclusions but would love input. Here's what I've got rattling around in my head....

Green Glue and double walls may be over kill for this application????

Maybe blown cellulose is cheaper and better STC wise than cotton batting for in between the studs? Or know any other better ways?

The obvious thing is to deal with flanking and cracks air can get out.

Is a cement floor really gonna be that big a deal? I've been in other spaces with cement floors that seemed fine.

ceilings? I have no idea. Been reading about drop ceilings but the idea of creating an air space above seems to contradict what've read about avoiding air spaces.

Low freqs?

Wonderboard and duroc? worth it? good ?