New Reply
Subscribe
manight
18th November 2012
Old 18th November 2012
Banned

Untreated bedroom ARC-2 or VRM

Hallo mates,
I have my audio stuff in my bedroom. That pose a major issue in treating the room since I cannot place traps around or move things more then just a bit.
The room is about 3m x 4m x 3.5m (high) there is a big window on the right wall (facing the speakers) and a big wardrobe that goes along all the wall from floor to ceiling on the back wall (the wall behind me not behind the speakers). The wardrobe is "plastic wood" so it's highly "reflectant".
Apart from that, the other walls are all covered with a Alkantara paper, wich is similar to a pool table cover.

Monitors are a couple of seasoned Yamaha NS-10M

This is the overall description. Of course is generic but I think it can be enough to point me to the right direction.
I would like to get some improvement for mixing/mastering duties (I'm no professional I do it just for fun) and instead of having to listen to the song in 189739123 different places to have the right feel for mix deficiences, I was wondering if some "audio helper" system could do the trick.

I did some research and end up with the main question wich is if in my situation I would benefit more from an IK ARC-2 system (or similar like MiniDSP+REW) or a goog couple of professional Headphones (AKG K 271 MK II + Focusrite VRM or similar).
Mixing entirely in headphones is not advisable of course but maybe VRM would ease this issue and provide better results than mixing on the speakers with an ARC-2 in an untreated room like mine.

The price for AKG K 271 MK II and ARC-2 is similar. Also I don't know if there are "better" systems than the Focusrite VRM or ARC-2

Thanks in advance for your guru suggestions and sorry for bugging with lame stuff.
18th November 2012
Old 18th November 2012
Gear Guru