Feedback on room design
Tetsue
11th May 2012
Old 11th May 2012
Gear interested

Feedback on room design

Hello, my name is Nathan and I am a student at the Vancouver School of Arts and Academics (VSAA). I have been studying sound recording and acoustics throughout my time at this school and this year I began working closely with the instructor of the CTE Film department on building an acoustically sound space for recording multiple voices. I started out by developing a 3D model of what I believed would be a good design. After having it approved and discussed with my instructor, he began to write a grant, and I further improved my designs. We discussed where in the building would be the best place to add this room, and after deciding I reconstructed the existing space in google sketch-up. I then continued to reconstruct the space I designed within the existing space. My instructor has written a grant for funding, here is an excerpt of a description of what we are wanting to build this space for.

"...Expected Outcomes: What do you plan to accomplish with these funds? Please describe the measurable outcomes. A major goal for us is to have every single VSAA student and staff member do an audio recording of ‘their’ story in an interview format. We want to capture every single voice for an audio recording that we will compile as a “moment in time” for our students. We plan on building an isolation/sound booth for students and staff to interview and record each other. Each interview would be fifteen to thirty minutes of audio, that students would then edit down to their best three to five minute sound bite. Our goal is to have students (who love to talk), also learn how to really listen to each other. We would be able to use this sound booth in future years for continued audio and video recording and voice-over projects. This addition would greatly enhance our student’s educational experiences."