Subscribe
Mukaku
19th February 2012
Old 19th February 2012
Gear interested

Defying the laws of physics?!

Hi Eveyone,

I'm new to Gearslutz, hope y'all can shed some light on this;

I have my own 'studio' in the attic of our house. The sound has always been pretty good, but last week I deicided to try to make it a little better. At the moment i hardly have budget to buy stuff, but I have quite a bit Rockwool 211 lying around. I read a lot about DIY-basstraps en measuring the room. For now I'm only measuring DB's across the entire frequency range with a DB-meter. I'm not measuring phase, decay etc. with EQwizzard or anything like that (yet) because my only real problem is a little bit too much low end at some frequencies...

Here's the funny thing; When walking around in the room there's very little change in levels at almost all freq's (no standing waves?), but moving around stuff causes a lot of changes, even in the really low... For instance I have a large wooden door that has considerable impact on the levels of some frequencies in the low end. It's a thick door, but it's not like it's that much mass to have that much impact... Also when trying to find the ideal listening position I noticed that moving the spekers only a few inches also has great impact, again also in the low end...
Also, at most listening positions, there are no big spikes and the biggest difference between frequencies is no bigger than 10 DB...

After extensive reading about roomtreatment all this seems to defy everything I've ever read about the subject?! (for an untreated room)

I'm sorry I don't have specified data, but I still wanted to ask if anybody has an idea as to how and why...

The room is as A-symetric as can be, with an L-shaped stone wall in the back and only wood, going round in front, ending in a small pointy ceiling. Pardon my English, I'm from Holland....