will this patchbay work for what I want to do?
pixeltarian
20th May 2011
Old 20th May 2011
Gear nut

will this patchbay work for what I want to do?

I just got a carvin patchbay for free from someone and I've been wanting to be able to select between my snake and front panel XLRs for some time now...

here's the manual/spec sheet:
http://www.carvinguitars.com/cartech...nuals/pb48.pdf

schematicy diagram:

I know there are different types of patchbays. if this is just through, I'm good, but I get confused when I look at the manual. Is it just basic through? the schematic sort of maybe makes me think it's not but I'm not good at interpreting things like that. It appears to be half normaled, with the option of being "not normalled" if I flip the circuit board around. what is "not normalled" exactly? does that mean through?

why I want to know this is because I'm wondering... is it possible to use this patchbay to route two mic input-areas (not at one time) to one preamp all from the front of the pannel?

diagram of what I am hoping for:
pixeltarian
20th May 2011
Old 20th May 2011
Gear nut

if this is in the wrong category... can one of you mods put it where it needs to be?
20th May 2011
Old 20th May 2011
Gear maniac

20th May 2011
Old 20th May 2011
Gear maniac

top row = outputs
bottom row = inputs

you'll have each output of your snake in the top row (mic 1 mic 2 mic 3 etc), they will be connected to the bottom row ..so, mic 1 will be connected to input 1 and so on..

by plugging a wire in the mic 1, it will still go to input 1, but if you plug a wire into input 1 point on yor patchbay, you break the connection. Lets say you want to send mic 1 to input 3, if plugging a wire in the input wouldnt break the connection, you would send phantom power to mic 1 and mic 3, risking to damage the mic.