Drum Micing for a Baker/Bonham/Mitchell Sound
New Reply
Subscribe
Codey42091
31st August 2010
Old 31st August 2010
Gear interested

Drum Micing for a Baker/Bonham/Mitchell Sound

Hey guys, I'm a drummer and I am recording very soon.

I am part of a classic rock era/blues band, and I need a very raw John Bonham, Ginger Baker or Mitch Mitchell sound to my drums. You guys know how Jimi and Zeppelin sounded in studio, that's what i am looking for.

I have a DW Custom Maple kit, with a 24" Kick, 12", 14", 16", and 18" toms, A DW 5x14" maple snare, along with my Ludwig Supraphonic 6.5x14." My cymbals are a Paiste 2002 setup, 15" hats, 16" and 18" crashes, and a 24" ride.

The sound I am looking for needs to be very open, as with that eras recording. Not necessarily clean, but clean enough.

Ideally, and realistically, what would be the best mics for all of the drums, and overhead to attempt to reach that sound? Money is no worry, and your help is much appreciated. Thanks
31st August 2010
Old 31st August 2010
Gear Guru

Find a big room to record in....

Tune the drums well and don't over-damp them

-tINY

31st August 2010
Old 31st August 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Codey42091 View Post
Hey guys, I'm a drummer and I am recording very soon.

I am part of a classic rock era/blues band, and I need a very raw John Bonham, Ginger Baker or Mitch Mitchell sound to my drums. You guys know how Jimi and Zeppelin sounded in studio, that's what i am looking for.

I have a DW Custom Maple kit, with a 24" Kick, 12", 14", 16", and 18" toms, A DW 5x14" maple snare, along with my Ludwig Supraphonic 6.5x14." My cymbals are a Paiste 2002 setup, 15" hats, 16" and 18" crashes, and a 24" ride.

The sound I am looking for needs to be very open, as with that eras recording. Not necessarily clean, but clean enough.