How thick should my windows be?
Old 23rd July 2010
Gear interested

Question How thick should my windows be?

HELP!!! Okay here goes...

I've been reading Rod's book and it is extremely useful - Thanks Rod!
Question - How thick do my windows need to be? I am using double wall construction, 2 sheets 5/8 drywall, and Green Glue... Rod's book states the weight is 5.25 pounds per square foot for a double layer of 5/8 drywall. This puts the glass on one side at 1/2" (6.56 psf)and 3/4" (9.84 psf) on the other side... Right? If I use Green Glue, do I need to calculate 4 sheets of drywall (10.25 psf per wall)? If so, this would make my glass....... THICK

This feels a little excessive - please advise

Last edited by The Music Room; 23rd July 2010 at 05:07 AM.. Reason: wrong info
Old 23rd July 2010
Gear addict

I don't think the gg adds THAT much mass. Your first numbers sounded right to me, but I'm no expert. Really curious now how this is going to turn out.
Old 23rd July 2010
Gear interested

The Music Room - Powell River, B.C.

Here are some pics of the studio build -

We are on day 22 of construction..... me and anyone with a truck full of air tools. My first contractor helped me level my sub-floor, then buggered off. My new guy is much nicer - and cheaper
Attached Thumbnails
How thick should my windows be?-dsc02463.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02474.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02482.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02574.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02603.jpg  

How thick should my windows be?-dsc02604.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02618.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02636.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02716.jpg   How thick should my windows be?-dsc02749.jpg  

Old 23rd July 2010
Lives for gear

1/2" and 3/4" is correct. Really, 3/8" and 1/2" would be just a hair less massive than your existing wall, but since .400" glass isn't really economical to have made...

Neil
Old 23rd July 2010