New Reply
Subscribe
seven777
14th June 2010
Old 14th June 2010
Gear interested

Question Studio Sound Isolation Help Please :D

Hiya all

I'm a newby on GearSlutz and have 10 days to sound isolate a commercial studio in the UK, so I'm hoping that you can help! The main issue is the ceiling of the live room as it's below offices. I have an idea about how I'm going to do this, but I'd love some feedback and input to know if I'm on the right path. I hope you can bear with me if some of the questions are a bit basic. I'm no expert at this but very excited and keen to get my hands dirty on this.

Ok, so here are the steps I'm planning.....

1) I'm planning to add timber at 12" divisions across the ceiling (timber will be a couple of inches from the ceiling). I'm planning to use treated wood but other than that not sure on other things that will help on a budget. Any tips / advise would be appreciated.

2) Then I'm going to fill in the gaps with some type of 50mm rock wool. I'm not sure if I can get Roxul SafenSound in the UK, but I believe the equivalent is RWA45. Is this on the right lines? I've also read about RS60 being good but can't get much info on this to find out if it is better or not. From previous posts I think the lighter density (RWA45) is better as a low frequency trap, but just would like to double check this doubles as a sound isolator too. Also, would 100mm really make much difference?

3) I'd like to use Genie clips or something similar with the rubber mounting to reduce the sounds transferring to the upper ceiling. (I can't find where to get Genie clips in the UK and all I seem to find is fishing gear! lol) I'm planning to use the diagonal system that's recommended for attaching the resilient bars, where they are placed 48" apart and spaced out. I saw this on a video on youtube that looked quite good.

4) Then i'm going to be tracking the resilient bars