How To Turn An Idea Into A Song
ollyno1uk
3rd September 2013
Old 3rd September 2013
Gear interested

How To Turn An Idea Into A Song

Hi Everyone

I have been playing guitar for about 20 years on and off now.

It has always been my ambition to write music and over the last 10 years I have tried numerous times without success.

It is almost like I am programmed to not be able to write. Even if I sit down with a view to writing the most rubbish song, something stops me doing it.

I have started recording little ideas that I have whenever I have them but I still do not understand how I can take these forward and actually create a song.

I have been reading this forum with interest and it seems like there are a lot of decent songwriters here that might be able to give me some guidance though I am pretty certain, there is not going to be any easy answer - I just have to find it in myself somehow! After 10 years of trying, it seems increasingly unlikely!

https://soundcloud.com/ollyno1uk
3rd September 2013
Old 3rd September 2013
Gear addict

Lyrics - write about something you know
Music- write using your musical knowledge
Vocals - transpose the music into your vocal range
Draw from your experience.
Finish one song before you move on to another.

When I started writing I figured that I had played enough cover tunes to be able to write a decent song.

Arrangement - try and keep it around 3 minutes

That's my 2 cents.
3rd September 2013
Old 3rd September 2013
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by ido1957 View Post

When I started writing I figured that I had played enough cover tunes to be able to write a decent song.

That's my 2 cents.
Very Cool!
3rd September 2013
Old 3rd September 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by ollyno1uk View Post
Hi Everyone

Aha! That's the problem. It requires at least 21 years 9 months and 17 days to write a song!