I don't enjoy performing my songs
Old 15th March 2013
Gear Head

I don't enjoy performing my songs

Hello,

So I've been writing songs for something like 15 years now and I feel very confident in my songwriting abilities. It's the thing I enjoy doing more than anything else in the world and at this point, I think I do it very well. The problem comes with performing the songs. I feel like I can never manage to put them across the way I want to in a live setting.

I don't care that much for performing either, whether solo or as a sideman or as a band leader. Sure, I've had some great moments playing in front of an audience, but compared to the satisfaction of writing a new song or doing a good mixdown, it's really not that great. It feels like your reputation hinges on every moment when playing live and for what? Most of those people are chatting to their friends, not really paying attention. There are some people watching you. Maybe after you finish playing, a few people will go up to you and say something like, "That was really good." And maybe a couple people buy your album if you're lucky, so you make an extra $20. But as far as artistic expression? I don't feel like I'm doing anything artistic when I perform. Which makes me annoyed because when I see people like Gillian Welch or 60s Dylan or Tori Amos or Randy Newman or Nilsson or Will Oldham, it looks like they are having a great time on stage and they are acting the song, really getting into it. I feel like I've never had that feeling. Nor do I lust after it. To me, it just seems like a way to maybe get a couple new fans and network and "get your music out there". To me, performing is, at best, an empty experience and, at worst, a humiliating one.

As an example, here's a clip of me from a few nights ago playing a song:
El Camino Largo @ Parkside Lounge - YouTube