I need some help with, focus?
New Reply
Subscribe
mikedboh
28th February 2012
Old 28th February 2012
Gear nut

I need some help with, focus?

OK so here's the story. I'm 30 years old. Starting playing guitar when I was 16 and started picking up drums some time around 20. Played in a punk band growing up, a little rock, and some small meaningless projects in there. I'm an average singer also. When I was younger(and less experienced) I could write songs like it was my job. Now I'm always too critical of any ideas I get. Also since I play a handful of instruments I have trouble knowing where to start. It seems like at most I'll get a short vocal melody/line or guitar lick, and immediately go over to the drum kit to work on adding more rhythm to it. Somewhere in all of this ADD(?) kicks in and I lose it.

In all honesty I haven't written a full song in almost 10 years. It's sad. I'm a talented engineer as well and have a nicely equipped home studio at my disposal, yet it is going to waste(aside from recording projects for others here and there). Another thing worth mentioning is when I'm working with OTHER bands, the ideas flow like crazy. guitar licks, drum fills, tons of different ideas in general.

I want to write songs. Of course I want them to be "good" but deep down I look at music as more of an art(painting) than a competition(sport). There is just something in my mind that is screwing up the whole process.

Can anyone shed some light and possibly point me in the right direction?
29th February 2012
Old 29th February 2012
Gear nut