New Reply
Subscribe
Mikem
2nd December 2006
Old 2nd December 2006
Gear maniac

Characteristics of a Modern Mix?

My second post, my first thread.

I'm a hobbyist, but I have had some paying recording/mixing gigs where I contributed as a guitarist, as well. I'm 36, so I'm basically a product of the 70's and 80's when it comes to influences, and a lot of 90's stuff still sounds "modern" to me. But my own mixes often seem to get called retro or even 80's. Usually they're not dripping with reverb or anything. I realize that the arrangements and style have a lot to do with it. If you'd like to hear examples, you can visit my garageband.com page, and decide for yourself, or maybe cite examples of what I'm doing wrong (or, at least, "retro").

What are the main building blocks of a modern mix, if you can describe such things? I guess I have a hard time putting my finger on it, and I've never really trusted my ears all that much (let's just get that out there right now--I do this out of love, not necessarily out of talent).

Is reverb dead?

What makes a guitar sound "modern" vs. retro, when some of the same equipment is still in vogue (AC30's and whatnot).

If your client's band is trying to sound relevant and fresh, what techniques or gear do you find yourself reaching for every time? Or is it all in the songwriting and arranging, and the mixing just stays out of the way?

I'm about to buy my first decent pre (I've got a FF800 and an RNP so far), probably a GR ME-1NV--is that going to compound my retro issue? If so, what pre's sound more "modern", if such a thing is possible?

I apologize if this ground has been covered ad naseum, but I didn't see any threads that jumped out at me when searching for "modern mix". Also, please be gentle--I'm approaching this board in all humility, so I don't need anyone reinforcing the idea that I suck or that I'm an idiot. I'm fully aware of my limitations--painfully so!