Login / Register

Oktava MKL-2500... plus (or) AT4060/CharterOak SA538B?
New Reply
Subscribe
jdjustice
30th November 2006
Old 30th November 2006
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Send a message via Skype™ to jdjustice
Oktava MKL-2500... plus (or) AT4060/CharterOak SA538B?

i was just browsing around and i came across the Oktava MKL-2500 tube LDC; it looks interesting to me and the price seems right around what i want to pay right now for a new microphone to add to my collection ($800 USD - $1500 USD).

can someone with experience chime in with details about its sound and characteristics? maybe Warren from Front End Audio, since they are now an Oktava dealer, could add a few words?

JSYK, the other microphones i am looking at are the Audio-Technica AT4060, which i have some experience using (and was generally very impressed with), the Charter Oak SA538B, which i have no experience with, and a solid-state model, the Gefell M930. i have no experience with Gefell mics but they seem to have a great reputation.

i will be using the microphone on a male tenor voice, and that is the only desired application for this microphone, so if it is a good microphone for male vocals and sucks at acoustic guitar, for example, that is fine by me.

please help me figure out which of these microphones would be best for my application.
preamps the mic would be paired with include GR MP-2NV, API A²D, and Avalon VT-737sp.

any other details you might need to know about the vocal style and/or application that would help you make a recommendation i would happily furnish.

thanks guys/gals!
~j.d.
30th November 2006
Old 30th November 2006
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

Hi J.D. - re: MKL-2500,

To give you some idea of the quality potential of the Oktava MKL-2500 I'm posting an excerpt from email I got from a client of mine. Back in July of this year I received some sound samples of a solo male vocalist recorded with both a modded MKL-2500 and a Blue Bottle with B7 capsule.