Best Headphones for Mixing?
mobilemozart
11th November 2006
Old 11th November 2006
Lives for gear

Best Headphones for Mixing?

Any ideas for really good headphones for mixing? I've been working with Beyerdynamic 990 Pro's for the last 15 years - they have a very flat and natural bass response, unmatched by any other headphones I've heard.
But I'm interested in alternatives - the ultimate neutral sounding flat frequency response mixing/mastering headphone - any suggestions?

Peace,
Marc
11th November 2006
Old 11th November 2006
Banned

i did a serch recently, i needed hedphones for myslf, ive listend to HD600 & 650, picked up the 600, they are exellent, natural headphones. see if you can test some before you buy, its realy a presonal taste ...

good luck.
11th November 2006
Old 11th November 2006
Lives for gear

I work with classical music and my "personal" favorites are Etymotics ER-4s. they offer superior isolation and a great bit of detail throughout the spectrum.

I also use Stax Electrostatics and Sennheiser HD600s(my least favorite) to check on
11th November 2006
Old 11th November 2006
Gear maniac

I have both Sennheiser HD 600's and Grado RS1's. I prefer mixing on the Grados even though the Sennheiser sound more flattering.

If I mix on the HD 600's and then proof it on the RS1’s, I find it sounds like my mix needs to be remixed. But when I mix on the RS1’s and the check it on the HD600's, it sounds great (on both)…

Also, all of the Grado headphones are voiced the same so you can buy into their product line at whatever price you can afford and still get something that will allow your mix to translate well.
11th November 2006
Old 11th November 2006
Lives for gear