Login / Register

Upgrade interface converters or get new preamp?
New Reply
Subscribe
exspence
6th February 2013
Old 6th February 2013
Gear interested

Upgrade interface converters or get new preamp?

Hey, I'm brand new to GS.

I want to upgrade my Fireface 800, but i'm not sure if it's wiser to go with something like a Prism Lyra 2, Metric Halo etc...Or buy a new preamp instead (BAE or something similar) ? I'm currently using a U87, and I used to run it through my friends Chandler Pre and 1176 Limiter into the analog ins of the FF. Now that i'm starting a home studio, it depresses me to have to go straight into the FF800 Pre's. So lastly, I want to invest in a compressor mainly for tracking vocals. I don't record any full drums etc, so I only need 1-2 mic pres. I'm budgeting this all around $5k.

Current setup :

Neumann u87
RME FF 800
KRK VXT 8's
Yamaha NS-10's ( Secondary )
Omnisphere
Sylenth
Access Virus
Mac Osx
Logic Pro
Tons of plugins
6th February 2013
Old 6th February 2013
Lives for gear

I am not sure about how a FF sounds, but a really nice signal path through a pre for the U87 would make you smile. Aurora Audio GTQ 2 MKIII or a Buzz Audio ARC1.1...there are others as well.

www.aisle6.com.au
6th February 2013
Old 6th February 2013
Lives for gear

I'd go with a Lyra1 or if on the budget try to get an Sound Device usbpre2 or an RME UCX..
The lyra is a step above, but I'd get a better analog front end like a BAE 1023 pre with eq to go with your U87 (or even a 1073mpf if you want to save $$) and get a Crane Song Trakker or a BAE 10DC and/or an 1176 later (depending your needs)..

BAE 1073mpf (1.5k) + BAE 10DC (1.4k) + Prism Lyra1 (2.3k) : 5.2K
BAE 1023 (3.4k) + BAE 10DC (1.4k) + RME UCX/SD usbpre (about 1k) : 5.8k
(you could also get a "regular 1073" and save some more, but you'll benefit from more eq points on the 1023.. eventually the BAE 1073D for the 500 series is on special offer, worth it if you already have lunchbox).