Eve sc205 vs adam a5x vs adam a7x
Nathn
4th January 2013
Old 4th January 2013
Gear interested

Eve sc205 vs adam a5x vs adam a7x

Hey guys. Firstly I'm just getting into music production, bare with me.

I've finally been able to get into a decent store that supply's these speakers so I had the chance to listen to them all today, they are all great speakers.

I could write paragraph after paragraph but here is some key points I found during the demo's I got with these monitors.

A7X - Bass seemed decent, clarity of vocals not as good as the A5X or the SC205

A5X - Decent all round speaker

EVE SC205 - Found these to be a little bit better then the A5X's in all area's, especially vocally.

My room that I will be using the gear is 2.7mx3m.

With such a small room am I really in need of the A7X's?

If I was to get either of the EVE SC205's or the ADAM A5X's by turning up the bass on the monitor itself would that effect my mixing because the default specs of the monitor have been changed? How would this effect my final product when listening back onto normal speakers? Should I be expecting to much bass in the final product? Hopefully that makes sense.

Cheers.
Nathn
4th January 2013
Old 4th January 2013
Gear interested

Just contacted another shop and they said for my room size I shouldn't be looking at anything over 6inch..

Help would be much appreciated here.

Cheers.
4th January 2013
Old 4th January 2013
Lives for gear
Choices

Essentially the smaller bass speaker puts out less bass energy and in a small room that should sound clearer. If you don't need the low bass, you should be fine.

You can treat your room with sound absorbtion to absorb energy check out articles at real traps.

Listen again and see if the 7s don't sound more open. Were all the speaker control's set flat.

Eve's are made by an original partner of the adam company

Kcat
Nathn
4th January 2013
Old 4th January 2013
Gear interested

I'm looking at doing dance/electronic music.