ASCAP, Royalties, Copy Rights, HELP!!
Old 13th December 2012
Gear interested

ASCAP, Royalties, Copy Rights, HELP!!

Aloha Everybody!

I was wondering if I could pick the brains of all you gear sluts, for some advice, opinions, and feedback.

I am an engineer, own a small recording and rehearsal studio. I have plenty of engineering experience, and education. But I lack all of that in the business side.

So, as I've been growing my studio and recording groups. Finally 2 singles are ready to drop! (Thank the lord!!) Both independent musicians, putting the songs out independently. I have been offered percentages and produced points on both singles. Both groups are registered with ASCAP, and tell me I have to register in order to collect my royalties?
Is this true? AND When I go to ASCAP.com it seems that it is only intended for Artists, and Publishers, Where do the engineers go?

And while I have your attention. Is it necessary to copyright your recordings? Does copy righting my recording conflict with the copy right of the song?

All help would be hugely appreciated!
Old 13th December 2012
Lives for gear

Hey welcome to GS. This post is in the wrong section I'm sure when a mod sees it they will move to another section where you will get more responses to your question.
Old 29th December 2012
Gear interested

It seems in this case you might come under the Publisher section
Old 29th December 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by PoiDogRecording View Post
Aloha Everybody!

I was wondering if I could pick the brains of all you gear sluts, for some advice, opinions, and feedback.

I am an engineer, own a small recording and rehearsal studio. I have plenty of engineering experience, and education. But I lack all of that in the business side.