Contracts, Contracts & Contracts...
New Reply
Subscribe
AudioDevil
8th December 2012
Old 8th December 2012
Gear Head

Contracts, Contracts & Contracts...

A rather strange request. However, I'm helping my friend to be a little more organised with the running of his studio. It's nothing large or commercial but he earns a nice little living off of it.

One thing that's become apparent is the lack of any paperwork for booking, recording contracts etc... etc... Without spending lot's of time with a music solicitor are there ready made contract packages you can purchase online which cover EVERYTHING? Not only that, one's that have been legally approved?

With Christmas coming up I think it'd be a nice treat. If not a comical pun. I have no knowledge in this area as I work freelance as a mixing engineer / composer so I can't exactly advice on the running of the business side, greatly.

Thanks for any help.
8th December 2012
Old 8th December 2012
Lives for gear

It depends on the market he's in. A lot of business happens with only a figurative handshake. Bands and such aren't always into signing contracts. It would also require knowing his personal philosophies about how he likes to get paid, when he's comfortable releasing master tapes, etc. Recording studios are such a niche business that it's hard to find a one size fits all legal solution.

So, the best thing to do might be to find a small business lawyer familiar with music in your area. I'm not a lawyer, but hope to be one within the next year, so I cannot advise other than to say find some good advice from a licensed attorney.
9th December 2012
Old 9th December 2012
Lives for gear

Definition of a contract. " Offer + acceptance , over time....with consideration ( value for exchange ) "

Nothing in there about reducing that to writing is there ?
Thats because all contracts are first verbal or based upon action.