500 series nutjob

Send a message via Skype™ to pan60
Interview with Peter-Paul Wijte of Triton Audio

Triton Audio

Interview with Peter-Paul Wijte
About the Triton Audio D2O Microphone Preamp

Aug. 21, 2012

pan60 - Peter, tell us about yourself.

Peter - In the early Nineties, I was an electronics student and had a job with a Dutch tube guru named Gerbrand Fust. He owned a shop which sold tubes and performed repairs on gear. We also developed a high-end preamp and class “A” power amp, all of which are tube-based, of course.

One of the regular visitors there sold vintage (German) gear, mainly to the U.S. in those days. We discussed, measured, repaired and listened to those pieces of gear. Of the preamps we liked, the Telefunken V series was the best. I guess that is also where I first got the idea to develop a modern reissue.

pan60 – Could you give me some background on Triton Audio?

Peter – Triton Audio is the cooperation between Erwin Erkamp and me, Peter-Paul Wijte, both from the Netherlands. We are long time friends with a passion for music and audio electronics.

Erwin plays the drums and could be described as a ‘gearhead.’ He built his home studio as a replica of Lee Perry's studio, the Black Ark because of his love for reggae music and especially Dub reggae and its heavy use of a variety of effects.

Me, I play bass guitar in several local bands and have been fascinated by electronics from the age of 9 or 10 when I took apart an old black and white television set. From that point on, I have been experimenting with electronics.

My passion for audio electronics developed when I became interested in tube gear and started a recording studio with some friends. After I finished my education as an instrument maker (tool maker) I started an electronics study, as mentioned before, and found a job in the workshop of Dutch tube/electronics guru Gerbrand Fust, from whom I learned a great deal.