The best Mics for recording a complete drum kit
Qronik_dakid
21st October 2012
Old 21st October 2012
Gear Head

The best Mics for recording a complete drum kit

What are the possible best mics for recording a live drum kit? I'm looking for hi end mics and the budget will go up to 10k. Thanks for the input

The mics are for use in a professional recording studio
21st October 2012
Old 21st October 2012
Gear addict

I'm no pro at all but considering the styles you usually record and techniques you use, how many do you think you need? 3, 5, 15? This will to some extent dictate your per/mic budget.
I'd figure that out before the snowball of semi-random suggestions starts
Qronik_dakid
21st October 2012
Old 21st October 2012
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanchez View Post
I'm no pro at all but considering the styles you usually record and techniques you use, how many do you think you need? 3, 5, 15? This will to some extent dictate your per/mic budget.
I'd figure that out before the snowball of semi-random suggestions starts

I'm learning the techniques now, I would like to have one mic for each piece of the kit so maybe 12 mics.

The style of music is: Jazz, Pop, Gospel and Rock. Geee Thank you
21st October 2012
Old 21st October 2012
Gear addict

Gentlemen, start your engines.
These folks LOOOOVE spending other people's money
21st October 2012
Old 21st October 2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qronik_dakid View Post
What are the possible best mics for recording a live drum kit? I'm looking for hi end mics and the budget will go up to 10k. Thanks for the input

There are no 'best mics for recording a live drum kit'. What works best will be affected by what sound you are shooting for and what the kit sounds like in the room you are working. What are you shooting for?
21st October 2012
Old 21st October 2012
Gear maniac