HELP! Getting "that" Snare Sound
New Reply
Subscribe
jaysunice
1st July 2006
Old 1st July 2006
Gear maniac

HELP! Getting "that" Snare Sound

So, I have little to know knowledge about working/mixing real drum kits. I may just end up triggering samples, nevertheless, I'm trying to get the snare from Metallica's "Master of Puppets" CD.

Anyone familiar with the record; more importantly, ideas of what I should do compression/eq/plate/reverb wise to obtain this relatively "FAT" snare sound. FYI - snare has both top and bottom mics. Many thanks,

Jason
jaysunice
2nd July 2006
Old 2nd July 2006
Gear maniac

No Takers?
2nd July 2006
Old 2nd July 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysunice
So, I have little to know knowledge about working/mixing real drum kits. I may just end up triggering samples, nevertheless, I'm trying to get the snare from Metallica's "Master of Puppets" CD.

Anyone familiar with the record; more importantly, ideas of what I should do compression/eq/plate/reverb wise to obtain this relatively "FAT" snare sound. FYI - snare has both top and bottom mics. Many thanks,

Jason
Hello Jason,
Please view the links below; they give specific info as to the drum mics used in the studio for Metallica.

http://www.sweetsilence.com/Metallic...r%20Master.htm
http://www.sweetsilence.com/Metallic...ingJustice.jpg

As you can see, SM57's were used on the top and the bottom of the snare, as well as for the toms.
However, there are many additional overhead and room mics, a great studio, and MOST importantly, Ulrich is one of the best drummers in the world.

The best chance that you have to get close to the snare sound that you are after, is to pick a Saturday with your drummer, and start doing some A-B comparisons between your sound, and the sound you are trying to achieve.
Try to record and possibly loop a sample where the snare is being hit alone like in an into or something, and begin your process of trial and error.