Old 1st June 2012
Gear Head

Help picking an MRL Tape

machine: Otari MX-70 1 inch 8track
Tape of choice: ATR Master Tape, +9
Curve of choice: CCIR
Speed: 15ips

Thinking I'll align to +6

I'm pretty new to tape, thanks for the help!
Facepalm
1st June 2012
Old 1st June 2012
Facepalm

Why have you chosen CCIR?
1st June 2012
Old 1st June 2012
Lives for gear

I'd recommend the multi frequency tape. Costs a bit more but useful. For IEC1/CCIR eq at 15 ips, the +6/355 nWb/m version is 41J426. The +3/250 nWb/m version is 41J226.

I assume you know the 15 ips IEC1 tape is wavelength compatible with 30 ips AES eq, so the same tape can be used at 30 ips with no level adjustment table, just a doubling of frequency? Same for 7.5 ips IEC1, but with a halving of frequency.

Cheers,

Otto
1st June 2012
Old 1st June 2012
Lives for gear

My 24trk 2" is aligned +6/355 neb ccir 15ips using atr and im in live with it
1st June 2012
Old 1st June 2012
Gear addict

Glad you're getting in on tape!

I have the same machine. Excellent place to start your analog journey!
I use the same calibration as you are wanting to use.
CCIR is much much better than NAB when using 15 ips.
I would recommend getting a 250nWm reference tape. This is what I have.
Align your VU meters to -6 during repro alignment.

+6 over 250 nWm is the same thing as +9 over 185 nWm.

This is a great starting place. If you want the tape to sound a little softer, try aligning to +3 over 250 nWm. I use both depending on the project.

As far as tones go:
1K 10K 16K(for azimuth) 100hz 50hz
You can skip the 100hz if its cheaper. This machine likes 50hz to align the bottom end. Just thought it might be good just in case, as some machines prefer to use 100hz for bass alignment.
However, you rarely use the bass tones off of the alignment tape since you align the repro bottom end while in record mode. But I like to have those tones "just in case."

Do you have the manual?