Mbox 3 vs Apogee Duet 2: Pros and Cons
New Reply
Subscribe
MetaLeecA
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Gear interested

Mbox 3 vs Apogee Duet 2: Pros and Cons

I'm very new to music production, so please go easy on me if this is a common question.

I've just bought my own copy of Pro Tools 10, but unsure on what interface to go with. I've been recommended Apogee One or Apogee Duet (1 or 2), though upon doing some research it seems although Apogee is of high quality, the new Mbox may be just as good for a better price.

Being new to it all, I'm after some advice!

(A) What are the Pros and Cons of the Mbox 3 and Apogee Duet 1/2 compared to each other?

(B) I may be completely misguided, in your opinion what is a very good quality/price interface for a beginner? I'm hoping to record electric guitars/bass', possible vocals, aswell as implementing drum machines and synthesisers (may not be applicable, once again I'm very new to this!).

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
Lives for gear

I sold my Duet (1), and now have an Mbox 3 (standard USB).

Advantage of Mbox:
MIDI i/o
S/PIDF i/o
Direct monitoring w/ Reverb/Delay in Cue Mix
Built in tuner app
Separate knobs for input and monitor levels
No breakout cable
Works with Mac or Windows OS
Price (I paid $379 for my Mbox on Amazon w/ the 15% off deal they have right now).

I use it with my Macbook Pro 2.53 Core 2 Duo with PT10HD (I have and HD system as well). I regularly use 32 sample buffer for very low latency using Eleven, and a bunch of Avid instruments. I don't miss the Duet at all.
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Lives for gear

In addition to the things Joe mentioned, I have personally compared the Mbox 3 and the Duet 2 for sound quality and in my opinion the the Mbox 3 sounds better in every way.
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Gear Head