Is it worth studying to become a live sound engineer
New Reply
Subscribe
Gavin S
5th February 2012
Old 5th February 2012
Gear interested

Is it worth studying to become a live sound engineer

Hi guys i am new to the forum. I am a music producer in London and been at it about 2 years now. Aged 30 and always been a dj etc.I am not to bothered long term about dj work anymore or heading down the production line. I am looking for a long term job to get my teeth stuck into.

My question really is are there job opportunities within this line of work? I mean this in regard to perhaps working doing the sound at a concert, theatre, radio, tv channel. Basically anything along those lines.

I have found a college in london but the course is £5,000 for a diploma in live sound engineering so you understand my questioning.

So if any of you on here do this for a living or have any advice i would be very greatful. I am going to the college in the week to have a chat and see what my options are. I can work a small job etc to earn money while i study but do not wanna lay that kind of money out if long term there really is not a large market for this.

Might sound crazy but id be happy workin a local theatre just earning a living.

Thanks in advance
Gav
5th February 2012
Old 5th February 2012
Lives for gear

Radio, TV, live concert, theatre - these are all rather different fields and require different qualifications.

Basically, to answer your question - job ops, yes or no, the very short answer is hardly any.

The best would be to do a proper degree in either electrical engineering or electronics. The good news is that you can do this is short one-year bursts, going from ONC all the way to a pukka HND degree.

But private courses that tell the gullible that there are jobs out there for live engineers are ten-a-penny. Some cost 'just' £5,000 and some cost ten times as much - and they are all worthless!