Sonodyne SM200AK vs. SM100AK
New Reply
Subscribe
living sounds
15th January 2012
Old 15th January 2012
Lives for gear

Sonodyne SM200AK vs. SM100AK

From all the great reviews I'm pretty much decided on getting a Sonodyne monitor, now it's only between those two.

Pretty much everything there is to read is about the smaller monitor, but the bigger one looks like a great way to get rid of the sub - and it also is a lot more powerfull.

But I'm wondering about sound and of course translateability. The SM200AK is also not all aluminium.

Anyone compared the two?

Thanks!
15th January 2012
Old 15th January 2012
Gear interested

I have them and previously had the sm100's.
I would say they add all the necessary bass you would need from a sub. Especially for dance/pop/urban music they give so much extra in the low end, that was were i was looking for.
I am no audio expert but for me they sound warmer because of the extra bass and power.
I just love them.
Only thing i preferred about the 100's was the size, these are not portable at all, and I work on different locations a lot.
living sounds
15th January 2012
Old 15th January 2012
Lives for gear

Thanks!

Size is not a problem here, but do you miss anything in terms of detail/imaging? Any difference to the mixing process/translation?
16th January 2012
Old 16th January 2012
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by living sounds View Post
Thanks!

Size is not a problem here, but do you miss anything in terms of detail/imaging? Any difference to the mixing process/translation?
Not at all, especially for kickdrums I think they are very good in selecting the best sounds because you can hear every difference (and a lot of monitors didnt have that amount of detail for me).
6th April 2012
Old 6th April 2012
Lives for gear