New Reply
Subscribe
usinjin
18th December 2011
Old 18th December 2011
Gear interested

Hoping to improve my cello recordings

Hello all,

So I'm fairly new to recording and I have a pretty inexpensive setup. I'm using a single mic, a Studio Projects B1, interfaced with a Firebox. I'm trying to make some recordings of my cello, but I'm not feeling very satisfied with the results. So far, in all of the recordings I've made, the cello sounds very thin and kind of nasally. I'm not sure how else to put it. It doesn't sound warm at all, and it's not very full-sounding. I've tried a wide variety of locations for the mic--close to the bridge, farther, higher, lower, I've put the mic on thick cloth and with carboard reflectors behind it, nothing's really made that much of a difference. Unfortunately, the room I record in is pretty dry--it's carpeted, and fairly small. It's the only room I can use, unfortunately. Aside from switching rooms, is there anything I could do to improve the quality of my recordings? Should I add eq, or try to get a different/additional mic?

Thanks!
18th December 2011
Old 18th December 2011
Gear interested

I'll make a big statement here that you won't be able to get the sound right by tweaking it after. You really need to capture your instrument well and that's that.

I'd heartily recommend putting the time into finding a larger room with a nice acoustic to it, and recording in there. It'll be worth the effort of you are going for as pro of a sound as you can get. Try local churches, or schools etc.

I recorded Bach cello suites in a local church. I think the mics (spaced pair) were placed about 1.5m away, and 1.6m off the floor. That gave us a good balance between direct sound and reverb, and also faithfully captured the tone of the cello.