Getting a thick guitar tone.
New Reply
Subscribe
Saturday00
14th December 2011
Old 14th December 2011
Gear interested

Getting a thick guitar tone.

As a somewhat young engineer, my biggest problem right now is really getting the best guitar tone. This usually only happens when I'm recording metal-ish bands, though. I normally quad-track guitars and pan them 100% and 45% to get a fuller sound but I can meet really get a good tone to start with. I've tried artificial amp sims (pod farm 2.5, guitar rig 4, amplitube) and miking live amps (line 6 combo with a shure sm57), but I still cannot get the tone I'm wanting. Any suggestions?
14th December 2011
Old 14th December 2011
Gear Guru

My Recordings/Credits

Skip the sims, record an amp, turn down the treble pot, many push it too far up. On many tube amp tone stacks, the mids and low end drop out some if the treble control is pushed up too far past 8 or so. I set my amps with the mids on 10, bass on 3, treble on 4 or 5.
Fat city.
14th December 2011
Old 14th December 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Williams View Post
Skip the sims, record an amp, turn down the treble pot, many push it too far up. On many tube amp tone stacks, the mids and low end drop out some if the treble control is pushed up too far past 8 or so. I set my amps with the mids on 10, bass on 3, treble on 4 or 5.
Fat city.
LOL.. you probably would not do that with my Marshall...

also I have noticed that there is less distortion if the mids are up (in general) and that an amp sounds cleaner thru a mic than it does in the room..

get as good a sound out of the amp without it getting 'flabby' or compressed and then put a little unboosted overdrive in front of it to give it a little more 'hair' but still stay tight

also do not get the amp sounding overly compressed... recording shows this off more than 'live in room' lots of players think 'more is more' and it is not always the case

Roger Brainard
www.rogerbrainard.com