Any tips for doing my accounts?
New Reply
Subscribe
Amber
4th November 2011
Old 4th November 2011
Lives for gear

Any tips for doing my accounts?

So I've pretty much never done my accounts when I've mentioned expenses since they've never really been there. I've just declared what I've earned and that's it. I work as a composer with a super simple setup.

A bit stupid but I would often sell gear anyway.

I'm in the UK, self employed, not a LTD company, not VAT registered etc.

How do you guys deal with your expenses? I've read some people say things like they know they will owe roughly £2,500 tax at the end of the year and then they'll spend that amount on gear so their tax bill is next to nothing. Is this really how it works?

I've realised I can run my mobile phone, broadband etc as expenses. Can I claim flights to LA for meetings?
4th November 2011
Old 4th November 2011
Gearslutz.com admin

My Recordings/Credits

4th November 2011
Old 4th November 2011
Lives for gear

The best advicse i can give you is to hire A CPA in your area , so he knows all the tax laws in your area. Save all receipts and let him decide what you can deduct legally.

To answer your question, my CPA handles all these things. I see him every 3 months and he takes good care of me

Mixing And Mastering Studio -Professional Mixing & Mastering Studio Providing Online And Attended Sessions.
Mixed And Mastered Best Album Of The Year By En-Sound
Amber
4th November 2011
Old 4th November 2011
Lives for gear

Cool Jules, checking it out now.

Also, something to add. How do you other guys in the UK take payments from clients abroad? I've actually never had a client in the UK. I've taken payment via Paypal in the last couple of years but hope there's a better way.
4th November 2011
Old 4th November 2011
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amber View Post