Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!


New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th March 2006   #1
Lives for gear
 
T_R_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canuk
Posts: 5,163

Thread Starter
Exclamation WARNING NEW EBAY SCAM BEWARE!!!!!!

Ok I have new seen this before.
I have several auctions on ebay right now.
I got a question for a potentail buyer.
Even the question was good it all looked really like a normal ebay question
When you sell on ebay, ebay forwards the question to you and you can respond to the buyer,
HOWEVER THE EMAIL did NOT orginate from eBay it looked like a question from one on my current running auctions.
It was very slick and looked so authentic. T
he link that responded to the question did not go to ebay it was a spoof/phishing email.

They got my login I only caught it because I am using my account lots these days
and saw a new auction which I ended and changed my password right away.
Anyway eBay help me a lot.
__________________
==========

Surplus Sale
T_R_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #2
I like lamp
 
Matt Grondin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,317

Dude, I kind of got your jest, but there's so many grammatical errors that it was hard to decipher exactly what your were trying to say in places... can you clarify?
__________________
Matt Grondin
The Parlor Recording Studio
New Orleans, LA


http://www.theparlorstudio.com
http://www.facebook.com/theparlorstudio
matt@theparlorstudio.com
Matt Grondin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #3
Lives for gear
 
echorec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,256

Yeah, I got a few of these too recently. You have to be very careful these days.

dobby12: It is a new type of "phishing". It looks like a regular "Question from ebay member" but it is fake. Always check the adress field in your browser before entering a site that requires a password.
echorec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #4
Gear Guru
 
AllAboutTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: S.Carolina
Posts: 11,066

wow, they are some slick ones out there, i have not saw a email yet but several months ago someone busted my ebay and paypal password, i was lucky to change it before any damage occured. I will be on the look out , thanks
AllAboutTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #5
Lives for gear
 
T_R_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canuk
Posts: 5,163

Thread Starter
All of the phishing emails I have gotten were pretty plain what they were.
This for sure is a new type as it was from a running auction.
Somebody put a lot of effort into it.
I compared it to a regular email ebay question and I could not tell even the page it sent me to was very good. Nothing out the ordinary looked off.
T_R_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #6
Gear maniac
 
Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 229

Yeah the lesson here is always answer your Ebay messages on Ebay.
Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #7
Gear Guru
 
Glenn Kuras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 11,003

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_R_S
Ok I have new seen this before.
I have several auctions on ebay right now.
I got a question for a potentail buyer.
Even the question was good it all looked really like a normal ebay question
When you sell on ebay, ebay forwards the question to you and you can respond to the buyer,
HOWEVER THE EMAIL did NOT orginate from eBay it looked like a question from one on my current running auctions.
It was very slick and looked so authentic. T
he link that responded to the question did not go to ebay it was a spoof/phishing email.

They got my login I only caught it because I am using my account lots these days
and saw a new auction which I ended and changed my password right away.
Anyway eBay help me a lot.
wow thank you for the heads up!! We sell a lot of things through ebay and get a lot of questions.. I think I need to go change my password just to be sure..

Glenn
__________________
Glenn Kuras
GIK Acoustics USA
GIK Acoustics Europe
770 986 2789 (USA)
+44 (0) 20 7558 8976 (UK)

See the NEW Soffit Bass Trap
Glenn Kuras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #8
Lives for gear
 
Doublehelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,016

Quote:
Originally Posted by dobby12
Dude, I kind of got your jest, but there's so many grammatical errors that it was hard to decipher exactly what your were trying to say in places... can you clarify?

Since you are being critical of the original poster...the word is "gist", not "jest".
__________________
DH

"Nobody goes there anymore; it's too crowded."
-Yogi Berra
Doublehelix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #9
Lives for gear
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Maryland,USA
Posts: 3,439

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doublehelix
Since you are being critical of the original poster...the word is "gist", not "jest".
and he used "your" where he meant to use "you"
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2006   #10
Lives for gear
 
Rodney Gene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,004

Good catch bro...!!

Those sneaky tricksters...

No More Ebay or Paypal for me....!!
Honestly...

Since I only buy from folks I know...and now I can sell on Craigslist locally...just as fast without fees..

We let our Paypal account and Ebay account lapse...!! After 7 successful years...we said...no mas. Just seems too insecure anymore.

Respect,
__________________
Rodney Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's a warning about the latest ebay scam. forsooth The Moan Zone 5 9th May 2006 01:07 AM
Beware of EBAY SCAM robchittum So much gear, so little time! 12 17th March 2004 05:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:49 AM.

 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com Limited - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office: 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.