ProCo vs Mogami and Canare Snakes
New Reply
Subscribe
KurtR
16th March 2006
Old 16th March 2006
Gear addict

ProCo vs Mogami and Canare Snakes

I will be using it for a semi-high end home studio but the price diffrence between them is about 300 dollars for a 24 channel. The ProCo also comes with 4 TRS sends so it would be easy to use headphones instead of getting another 4 channel snake. Is it really worth the extra money? I know many will say go spend it but I am unsure it will make a real difference worth the money and having to get another snake for headphones. I still might get a mogami/gotham quad cable to go straight to my vocal pre's bypassing the snake. If you have anything to say please speak!
17th March 2006
Old 17th March 2006
Gear maniac

I have always had nothing but good experiences with ProCo, be it studio gear or road gear. I have little experience with Mogami, so I really couldn't give you much info there. But the TRS sends on that ProCo snake are REALLY handy...
17th March 2006
Old 17th March 2006
Lives for gear

Mogami>Proco
17th March 2006
Old 17th March 2006

My studio is wired with mogami, but I just oredered a canare 24 channel snake, after reading a few posts on the subject. hopefully I made the right decission! Although I'm sure its 6 of one and half a dozen of the other..
17th March 2006
Old 17th March 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by narco
My studio is wired with mogami, but I just oredered a canare 24 channel snake, after reading a few posts on the subject. hopefully I made the right decission! Although I'm sure its 6 of one and half a dozen of the other..
Mogami sounds better, for SURE. The Pro Co is quality cable that will last though. Just don't ever substitute one with a Mogami cable. You will immediately regret any cash you spend on the Pro Co just because of the sound.
17th March 2006
Old 17th March 2006
TER
Gear maniac

And the longer the snake, the bigger the difference!

-tom
KurtR
17th March 2006